Genitourinary Radiology > Embryology > Metanephros > Overview

Metanephros: Overview


The metanephros forms from two separate cell lines, the ureteric bud and the metanephric blastema.

  • Ureteric bud

    The ureteric bud develops into the collecting system, including the ureter, renal pelvis, major and minor calyces, and the collecting tubules of the renal medulla.

    1. UPJ obstruction
    2. Ureterocele
    3. Duplicated collecting system

  • Metanephric blastema

    The metanephric blastema develops into the excretory portion of the kidney—the renal cortex, including the Bowman’s capsule (glomerulus, nephron), proximal and distal convoluted tubules, loop of Henle, and the renal parenchymal (supporting) tissues.

© Copyright Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia 2013